Winners 2nd edition Expanded Reason Awards

Research Category

Javier Sánchez Cañizares

Juan Arana

Teaching category

Gonzalo Génova

María del Rosario González

John C. Cavadini

James Martin

Patricia Bellm

Christopher T. Baglow

Honorable mentions

Brad Gregory

David Wilkinson


Chad Engelland y Brian Engelland – University of Dallas (Dallas, USA) and The Catholic University of America (Washington DC, USA).

Consumerism, Marketing, and the Cardinal Virtues.

Denis Larrivee –Loyola University (Chicago, USA).

Realigning the Neural Paradigm for Death.

María Prieto Ursúa – Pontifical University Comillas (Madrid, Spain).

Forgiveness and Health. Introduction to the Psychology of Forgiveness.

Omowumi Ogunyemi – Pan-Atlantic University (Lagos, Nigeria).

The Unity of Autobiographical temporality of the Narrative Self in Contemporary. Psychology and Neuroscience: A Philosophical Study.

Paul Watson – University of Tennessee (Tennessee, USA).

Ideological Surround Model and the Post-Postmodern Expansion of Reason.

Paulina Taboada Rodríguez –Pontifical Catholic University of Chile (Santiago, Chile).

Sedation at the End-of-life: an Interdisciplinary Approach.

Giuseppe Tanzella – Nitti – Pontifical University of Santa Croce (Rome, Italy).

Reappraising the Human within Science, not against Science. The 9-year SISRI Teaching Program.

Pablo López Raso – University Francisco de Vitoria (Madrid, Spain).

The dialogue with the incomprehensible. Pedagogy of contemporary art through its communicative dimensions.


The members of the jury of the 2nd edition of the Expanded Reason Awards met on 18 and 19, July 2018 at the University Francisco de Vitoria in Madrid.v

Federico Lombardi

President of the Vatican Foundation Joseph Ratzinger – Benedicto XVI.

 + info

Daniel Sada

Rector of the University Francisco de Vitoria (Madrid, España).

Paolo Benanti

Professor at the Pontifical Gregorian University (Rome, Italy)

Stefano Zamagni

Professor of Political Economy at the University of Bologna (Bologna, Italy)

Andrew Briggs

Professor of Nanomaterials at Oxford University (Oxford, UK)

 + info

Rafael Vicuña

Professor of molecular genetics and microbiology at the Pontifical Catholic University of Chile (Santiago, Chile)

 + info

Javier Prades

Professor of Systematic Theology, San Dámaso University (Madrid, Spain)

 + info