Get to know the winners of the Expanded Reason Awards

In Madrid, at the University Francisco de Vitoria, on 18 and 19 July 2018, the International Jury of the II edition of the Expanded Reason Awards gathered: Mr. Daniel Sada, Fr. Federico Lombardi S.J., Mr. Rafael Vicuña, Mr. Stefano Zamagni, Mr. Andrew Briggs, Mr. Paolo Benanti and Mr. Javier Mª Prades for the deliberation of the winners of the second edition of the Expanded Reason Awards.

The decision of the Awards, which took into account the challenge of establishing a dialogue of the particular sciences with philosophy and theology in line with the teachings of Benedict XVI, as proposed in the bases of the Expanded Reason Awards, has awarded the prize to the following researchers and university professors:


in the category of RESEARCH,

Javier Sánchez Cañizares for Universo singular, from the University of Navarra (Spain).

Juan Arana for The Unexplained Conscience. Essay on the limits of naturalistic understanding, from the University of Seville (Spain).


in the category of TEACHING,

Gonzalo Genova and María del Rosario González for Ethics for Engineers: Between Survival and Dignity, from the University Carlos III of Madrid and University Complutense (Spain).

John C. Cavadini, James Martin, Patricia Bellm and Christopher T. Baglow for Catholic Educators to Engage the Dialogue Between Science and Religion at Notre Dame University of Indiana (United States).


with SPECIAL MENTION in this category,

Brad Gregory for The Unintended Reformation: How a Religious Revolution Secularized Society, Notre Dame University of Indiana (United States).

David Wilkinson for Science, Religion and the Search for Extra-terrestrial Intelligence, Durham University (United Kingdom).


The prize-giving ceremony will take place on Monday 24 September in the Casina Pio IV, home of the Pontifical Academy of Sciences, in the Vatican gardens. This celebration is framed in an International Symposium that will reflect on the meaning and proposals for dialogue between science and philosophy and theology in today’s international university community. The winners of the II edition, the members of the jury and the finalists will be invited to this Congress. Registration opens on 20 July at for all other participants.

The continuation of these Awards, together with the recognition of researchers and teachers, aims to create an Expanded Reason Community that can be a meeting place for all those who wish to investigate according to the intuition of Benedict XVI to broaden the horizons of reason.

The first edition received works from 170 universities and 30 countries, whose winners come from universities in Argentina, the United States and Poland.

Members of the jury (from left to right): Javier Prades, Pierluca Azzaro (secretary of the jury), Daniel Sada, Federico Lombardi, Andrew Briggs, Paolo Benanti, Stefano Zamagni, Rafael Vicuña.


No comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *