These are the four winners of the VI edition of the Expanded Reason Awards

Expanded Reason Awards recognize with €100,000 (divided into four prizes of €25,000) to those researchers and university professors who dialogue from their science with philosophy and/or theology.

  • An international jury met on July 4, after several phases of review by referees specialized in the various areas of knowledge and in the Humanities. Han participado académicos de 15 países, 63 instituciones y/o universidades y hemos contado con postulaciones en 4 idiomas.
  • Academics from 15 countries, 63 institutions and/or universities have participated and we have had applications in 4 languages.
  • There are two awards in the Research category and two in the Teaching category and one honorable mention.
  • The award ceremony will be held in October 2023 at a venue to be determined.

The Expanded Reason Institute, a recognized promoter of the dialogue between Science and Philosophy and Theology, is pleased to announce the winners of the VI edition of the Expanded Reason Awards.

The award ceremony will be held in October 2023 at a venue to be determined. are international awards jointly organized by the Francisco de Vitoria University (UFV) and the Joseph Ratzinger Vatican Foundation (Fundación Vaticana Joseph Ratzinger).The aim is to recognize and reward excellence in research and teaching, in order to promote integration between disciplines and highlight the importance of the “expanded reason” promoted by Benedict XVI.

The deadline for receiving entries for the VI Edition began in the year 2021 until April 10, 2023, as it is a biennial call for entries. During the selection process, academic quality, originality and especially the contribution to the interdisciplinary dialogue between the different areas of knowledge and the humanities were valued.

The winners will receive a total of 100,000 euros in prizes and the Open Reason Awards ceremony will be held in October.

The goal of the Expadned Reason Awards is to promote dialogue between disciplines and in particular with those that can provide answers to anthropological, epistemological, ethical and meaning questions,where science cannot answer by itself. It also aims to create a space to promote research and teaching and the exchange of projects of professors and researchers whose contributions have made a difference in their respective areas of study;

After a thorough refereeing work by experts in the various areas of knowledge and peer review, as well as an exchange session between scientists and humanists, the jury met on July 4 for the final evaluation.

The winners of the VI Edition 2021-2023 are:

In the research category:

Name: Anna Rowlands
Title of the work: Towards a politics of communion catholic social teaching in dark times

Name: Dr Simon Maria Kopf
Title of the work Reframing Providence: New Perspectives from Aquinas on the Divine Action Debate

In the Teaching category:

Names: Juan Serrano Vicente y Carola Díaz de Lope-Díaz Molins
Title of the work: Escuela de Liderazgo Universitario

Names: Giuseppe-Tanzella Nitti y Stefano Oliva
Title of the work: DISF Educational platform

Receives an Honorable Mention:

Name: Elizabeth Newman
Title: Divine Abundance

The jury is made up of: Mr. Daniel Sada (Rector of the Francisco de Vitoria University), Mr. Federico Lombardi (President of the Vatican Foundation Joseph Ratzinger-Benedict XVI), Ms. Marta Bertolaso (Professor of Philosophy of Science, Faculty of Engineering and at the Institute of Philosophy of Scientific and Technological Practice of the Bio-Medical University Campus in Rome), Mr. Rafael Vicuña (Professor of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology at the Pontifical Catholic University of Chile), Mr. Stefano Zamagni (Professor of Political Economy at the University of Bologna) and Mr. Javier Mª Prades (Professor of Systemic Theology at the University of San Dámaso).

No comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *